Skip to content

About Denmark

Denmark is situated in Northern Europe and is the smallest of the Scandinavian countries. The Faroe Islands and Greenland are part of the Kingdom of Denmark. The latter is over 500 times larger than Denmark but has 100 times less people. Denmark is well known for its strong welfare state, mixed market economy and one of the most egalitarian societies in the world.

Country Facts

Learn more about Denmark here:

Read more about work in Denmark here:


Self Government was established in Greenland on the 21st of June 2009.

Greenland has an area of around 2.2 million square kilometres, making it the largest island in the world.

The inland ice, which covers approximately 1.8 million square kilometres, is the second largest ice cap in the world. In some places, the ice is up to 3.5 km thick. The northernmost point of the island, Cape Morris Jesup, is the northernmost land area in the world and is situated about 730 km from the North Pole.
The southern point, Cape Farewell, is located at the same latitude as the Nordic capitals Oslo and Helsinki.

Read more about Greenland here:

The Faroe Islands 

The Faroe Islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean, almost midway between Norway, Iceland and Scotland and consist of 18 islands separated by narrow straits and fjords.

The Faroe Islands are part of the kingdom of Denmark. The islands were a Danish county until 1948, but have since then been self-governing as laid down in the Home Rule Act. Defence matters and foreign policy do not come under the Home Rule, but the Faroese authorities do conduct negotiations regarding fishing rights with other countries, both with and without the participation of the Danish Foreign Office.

Read more about The Faroe Islands here: