Skip to content

The Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean, almost midway between Norway, Iceland and Scotland and consist of 18 islands separated by narrow straits and fjords

The Faroe Islands are part of the kingdom of Denmark. The islands were a Danish county until 1948, but have since then been self-governing as laid down in the Home Rule Act. Defence matters and foreign policy do not come under the Home Rule, but the Faroese authorities do conduct negotiations regarding fishing rights with other countries, both with and without the participation of the Danish Foreign Office.

Learn more